Our Vision


We seek to address the severe deficiencies in characterizing, monitoring, and understanding of water scarcity in arid climates. We aim to develop and design new technologies and analytical tools to help characterize and mitigate water scarcity, desertification, and arid climatic variability.

USC is the largest university in the largest water-scarce urban center in the world. Through advanced research and concrete research outcomes, education, and outreach, the Center will establish Viterbi School of Engineering as the technology hub, and USC as the leading University, nation-wide tackling the issues of water scarcity and drought.

A Technological Approach to Addressing Water Scarcity Under a Changing Climate in Arid Areas

Research


The hierarchical research structure of our center focuses on streamlining our remote sensing and robotics capabilities in water monitoring to advanced data analytics, modeling and applied sciences. In turn, our science and data-driven water-management and public policy as well as educational outreach programs provide a realistic framework to adapt to water scarcity in regions such as Southern California.

Read More.



Research Portfolio



Microwave Remote Sensing Developing and prototyping pioneering microwave remote sensing technologies for large-scale characterization of groundwater dynamics, soil water content, and desertification processes from ground, airborne (including UAV/UAS), and orbital platforms. Read More.
Microwave Devices and Integrated Circuits Read More.
Networks and Platforms Developing static and robotic wireless sensor networks for monitoring water resources in urban, cropland, and remote areas at different scales. Read More.
Energy, water, and land use. Investigating the relationship between energy, water, and land use management practices in water-scarce environments using remote-sensing applications. Read More.
Groundwater and Hydrologyical Modeling Investigating the relationship between energy, water, and land use management practices in water-scarce environments using remote-sensing applications.Read More.
Education, Outreach, Public Policy Read More.
Socio-economic Impacts of Water Scarcity Read More.

Around 4 Billion People world wide are affected by water scarcity.

Center Leadership Team

Mahta Moghaddam

Mahta Moghaddam

Center Director

Ming Hsieh Department of
Electrical Engineering
mahta@usc.edu

Mahta Moghaddam

Nora Ayanian

Department of Computer Science
nora.ayanian@usc.edu

Mahta Moghaddam

George Ban-Weiss

Sonny Astani Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
banweiss@usc.edu

Mahta Moghaddam

Felipe de Barros

Sonny Astani Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
fbarros@usc.edu

Mahta Moghaddam

Amy Childress

Sonny Astani Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
amyec@usc.edu

Mahta Moghaddam

Hossein Hashemi

Ming Hsieh Department of
Electrical Engineering
hossein@usc.edu

Mahta Moghaddam

Essam Heggy

Ming Hsieh Department of
Electrical Engineering
heggy@usc.edu

Mahta Moghaddam

Bhaskar Krishnamachari

Ming Hsieh Department of
Electrical Engineering
bikrishna@usc.edu

Mahta Moghaddam

Kelly Sanders

Sonny Astani Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
ktsanders@usc.edu

Mahta Moghaddam

Antonio M. Bento

Collaborator
Sol Price School of Public Policy
abento@usc.edu

Mahta Moghaddam

Hilda Blanco

Collaborator
Price School of Public Policy
hblanco@usc.edu

Mahta Moghaddam

Sarah Feakins

Collaborator
Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences
feakins@usc.edu